My time at Esther Honey Clinic was one of the best adventures I’ve ever signed up for but also one of the most challenging.  Everything about it was a challenge.  Living in a 1 bathroom house with 9 other people (8 being women) – challenging.  Living with no hot water – challenging.  Being eaten alive by mosquitos and ::gasp::  fleas – challenging.  Heat, humidity, physical exertion, death of patients, countless emergencies, burying animals that died but had no home, poop, poop and more poop.  It was hard stuff.

Amidst all this, we have the insanely adorable side.  To be able to play with kittens, you must endure the screaming chickens.  It is the toll that must be paid.  So let me begin introducing you to some of the many key players that motivated me to keep working for three weeks straight in 89% humidity.

Google:

We told Sacha not to feed it after midnight (and if you're too young to get the reference, go to hell)

We told Sacha not to feed it after midnight (and if you’re too young to get the reference, go to hell)

Really?  Do I need to say anything more?  The ridiculousness that is this kitten cannot be described.  I don’t know what the parents look like, but they put this kitten together all wrong.  She was tiny.  Teeny tiny.  She came from an original litter of three and we sadly watched the deterioration of two of her littermates.  I can still remember when Googs sneak attacked one of her siblings as he lay limp as a noodle, barely hanging on to life.  Near death means nothing to Googs.  It’s either play time or no time.  No in between.  Googs had a long way to go with her social graces.

DSC05346

Her introduction to older cats did not go well

Her first introduction to older cats did not go well

100_1253

…and it did not get better with time

 

99% of her time was spent on someone's lap....

99% of her time was spent on someone’s lap….

...pocket

…pocket

...or bra

…or bra

I don’t know what her future holds, but if I find out her adoptive owners waste one minute by not doting on her, I’m coming over with a bat.  And I’m bringing all the other girls that helped raise her.

DSC05055

 

