Grades are posted.  Time for reflection.

When I told my family and friends I would be taking genetics, the same expression came from each and every person, “How lucky you are to have a sister that’s a geneticist”!  But people don’t know my sister.  She is a vault.  She is impenetrable.  No one really knows what she does for a living.  Her entire life is shrouded in Dana invoked secrecy.  Or it could be that the level of science she is involved in is beyond what mere citizens can comprehend.  My husband thinks she’s a ninja.

I tested the waters at first to see if she remembered her remedial genetics concepts.  I mean really, we all took algebra in high school but who among us can remember how to do a quadratic equation?  So I told her what we were going over, she laughed and said “have fun figuring out your inbreeding coefficients”.  Success!  She must have sensed that because she quickly followed up with “but I don’t deal with that now so I don’t remember any of it.” Nards!

Just prior to the final exam and exhausted from nonstop studying, I called her and incoherently babbled about what I was reviewing.  She capitulated.  Dana was going to help me review.

We began with RFLPs, Restriction Fragment Length Polymorphisms.  Once I mentioned this, she perked up.  Oh?  What’s this?  Did I finally crack the code of what Dana does for a living?  Will I get an inside peek, some nugget of information that will open up the world of genetics to me?  The following is a true account of what happened next:

Me:  What is it?

Dana:  Well, what do you need to know?

Me:  I need to know what it is.

Dana:  But what are you going to use it for?

Me:  I don’t know because I still don’t know what it is or what it does.  So what is it and what does it do?

Dana:  Depends on what you’re looking for.

Me:  But what is it?

Dana:  I can’t tell you that until you tell me what you’re looking for.

Me:  Do you work for the government?

Steve was wrong, she’s no ninja, she’s the goddamn Cheshire cat of genetics.

