We just had our anatomy lab final of the semester which was a tricky one.  I finally conquered the complex nightmare that is the structures of the brain.  I can identify the unpaired branches of the abdominal aorta and the structures they supply.  I can correctly point out landmarks of the entire intestinal tract when taken out of the animal and dropped on the floor.  And my greatest accomplishment, I finally committed to memory the definition of anastomosis.

But none of that matters now.  Of all the things that I can identify, I will never recover from this one.  Because keep in mind, I own two male cats.  I spent years volunteering at high volume spay/neuter clinics.  And so now I reveal my greatest shame:

I identified a scrotum as a vulva.

Wanna know what else makes this moment worse?  As I filled in the bubble on my Scantron sheet I thought to myself with a smile, “Whoever gets this one wrong should be thrown out of vet school”.

