I’m working on a movie with a fantasy element. To trigger the magic, the main character doesn’t have to say Abracadabra (or Avada Kedavra, for you Potterites out there) or rub a genie’s lamp … he has to eat a chocolate bar in under 10 seconds.

Over the course of the movie, the actor is going to have to eat maybe a dozen bars, each of them in under 10 seconds, and because we’re planning on using long takes we probably won’t be able to do tricky editing to speed him up.

So, in solidarity with our actor (whoever he turns out to be), I figured I should do some practical research.

STEVE’S CHOCOLATE CHALLENGE – can I eat a plain chocolate bar in less than 10 seconds?  Let’s see…

Well. That was… interesting.  I stopped the video because I was on the verge of cocoasphyxiation, which is an embarrassing way to die even if you don’t record it on camera.

I think my first mistake was to cram the whole bar into my mouth all at once. I’ll have to try it again, but only half a bar at a time.

If you’d like to join in Steve’s Chocolate Challenge, upload a movie to YouTube and send me the link. I’ll make you famous-ish!

