When it’s a cookie.

In another of those “two cultures separated by a common language” moments, I caused a moment of profound disgust in a Kiwi the other day when I spoke fondly of ladeling gravy over warm biscuits.

The woman to whom I was speaking started with confusion, but it turned into revulsion in an instant.

And then, when I tried to describe what an American would call a biscuit, I was met with honest confusion.

Did I mean a croissant? No, it’s denser than that.

A muffin? No, it’s savory rather than sweet.

In a flash of insight, I referenced the biscuits at Kentucky Fried Chicken.ย  They have KFCs here, and their biscuits are among their best sellers in the States, so what do they call them here?

Wait, what? Was I talking about hash browns…?

No, biscuits!

It took a minute longer to learn that KFC doesn’t sell their famous biscuits in this country.ย  I’m guessing because they couldn’t figure out what to call them.

For my Kiwi readers, THIS is what I’m talkin’ about. You haven’t lived until you’ve tasted these chunks of buttery goodness.

